Ravens, AFC North Foes Dominate NFL Honors

The AFC North took home the most awards of any division in the league.

While the AFC North won't be represented in Super Bowl LVIII thanks to the Ravens' 17-10 loss to the Chiefs in the AFC Championship game, the division did have a strong season nonetheless.

The Ravens boasted the best record in the league at 13-4, giving them the division crown and the No. 1 overall seed in the conference. Cleveland fought through a season of quarterback injuries and eventually rode the aging arm of ex-Baltimore passer Joe Flacco to an 11-6 year and a playoff berth.


The Steelers also dealt with quarterback injuries but under the tutelage of coach Mike Tomlin, finished 10-7 with a playoff berth. Even the last-place Bengals - who lost quarterback Joe Burrow for the year - finished at 9-8 and were the No. 8 seed in the AFC, missing the postseason by just one spot.

But at the NFL Honors Awards presentation on Thursday night, the North was full of winners.

Related: 3 Underrated Needs For Ravens In 2024 Offseason

Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson won NFL MVP - the second of his career. Cleveland Myles Garrett won Defensive Player of the Year, narrowly beating out the Steelers' T.J. Watt. Browns signal caller Flacco won Comeback Player of the Year, while Cleveland coach Kevin Stefanski won Coach of the Year and defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz took home Assistant Coach of the Year.

That means the only awards not won by the AFC North were Offensive Player of the Year and the rookie category awards.

NewsNation on Facebook

Follow NewsNation on Twitter

Don't Miss